Skip to main content Skip to secondary navigation

Compliance protocols MUST be approved and linked in SeRA to a SPO project record prior to award acceptance. 

See ORA's Award Acceptance Resources for additional information.

NIH Multiyear Funded Awards

Main content start

~ Page is under development - More to come soon! ~

A multi-year funded (MYF) award is one in which the project period and budget period are the same and are longer than one year, and the award is funded from a single appropriation.

A no-cost extension of an existing grant does not constitute multi-year funding.

Some examples of activity codes that NIH traditionally uses for multi-year funding awards are C06, DP2, DP3, DP4, R15, R55, RC3, RC4, RF1, UA5, UC4, UC6, and UF1.

Expiration and Canceling of Funds After 5 Fiscal Years

Most NIH awards are funded incrementally based on annual appropriations, and funds only become available one fiscal year at a time, so the five year rule applies to each fiscal year increment.  However, in the case of MYF awards the award is funded from a single appropriation, typically in the first year of the project, for the entire project period.  Moreover, all Federal agencies are required by 31 U.S.C. §1552(a) to close fixed year appropriation accounts and cancel any remaining balances by September 30 of the fifth fiscal year after the year of availability. 

NIH Multi-Year Funded (MYF) Award Resources

NIH Instructions for Progress Reports for Multi-year Funded (MYF) Awards

Need further NIH MYF award assistance? Have questions, feedback, or are experiencing other issues? Please reach out to your OSR Post Award Research Accountant